• What are the stages from becoming a beginning programmer

Amit Member

This is a guide I read, it was good but incomplete.

http://www.wikihow.com/Learn-a-Programming-Language

Let’s say I wanted to learn C++ as my first language what topics would I study.

In the guide it says after learning the language (or programming in the language for a year) to learn data structure then algorithms.

What are the stages of going from total beginner to a master / advanced programmer?

• Adan Member

The first thing to remember is that the language is not really relevant: a programmer knows how to program and will learn any new programming language or library as needed.

However, as you correctly point out, you have to start somewhere. I would always recommend C since that’s much closer to the hardware than other languages. It teaches discipline – if you don’t follow the rules (which are not enforced by the language) you can do all kinds of weird stuff, particularly improper memory overwrites. It also has the basic language structure followed by pretty much all high-level languages, C++, Java, C#, etc. Of course, you won’t ever become good at a language until you have used it to create a working application that delivers a function that a user wants – the journey to actually making a program do what it’s supposed to without the user breaking it is a very powerful learning experience.

After that, it’s just a question of getting enough real practice and experience to make programming just flow.

• Adelaid Member

Programmers can become experts through gaining experience in real projects. Usually high experience is gained by working under pressure (either in a company or in a university doing research). You cannot possibly become an expert in a programming language just by being a hobbyist.